The Oxford Union Society Library is unique in that it is run by its members, for its members. Mainly, this takes the form of two committees. Full details on the library's Mission Statement and Collection Development Policy can be found here and here.

The Library Committee

Meeting weekly during term time, the Library Committee is chaired by the Junior Librarian. Its remit is to select new stock for the Library, to identify material for withdrawal and to discuss any other issues which impact on the day-to-day operation of the Library. 

In addition to the Junior Librarian, the Senior Librarian, the Librarian-in-Charge, the Trainee Librarian (Minutes Secretary) and a representative of Standing Committee, the Committee has numerous junior and senior members.

The current membership of the Committee is:

Sara Dube (Junior Librarian, St Hugh's College)
Mahi Joshi (Librarian Elect, Trinity College)
Sean Power (Senior Librarian, Oriel College)
Thomas Corrick (Librarian-in-Charge)
Elizabeth Piper (Minutes Secretary)
Olivia Leigh (Standing Committee Representative)
Amelia Harvey (Kellogg College)
Ryan Lee (Pembroke College)
William Atkinson (Christ Church College)
Kitsu Egerton (Regents College)
Marcin Pisanski (St. Anne's College)
Jonathan Sheinman (Queen's College)
Daniel Villar (Wadham College)
Tyron Surmon (Corpus Christi College)
Altair Brandon-Salmon (Christ Church College)
Yee Kwan Law (University College)
Brian Wong (Kellogg College)
Connor Warden (Senior Member)
Will Prescott (Senior Member)
Phillip Counsell (Senior Member)
John Whitehead (Senior Member)

James Pettifer (Senior Member)


The Committee is always keen to hear from potential new members, both junior and senior. 

To find out more, email the Junior Librarian or the Librarian-in-Charge.


The Library Strategy Committee

The Library Strategy Committee is chaired by the Senior Librarian and meets once a term. 

Its remit is to advise on issues concerning the long term strategic development of the library service. The Committee also approves the annual library strategy document. 

The current membership of the Library Strategy Committee is:

Sean Power (Senior Librarian, Oriel College)
Genevieve Athis (President, Christ Church College)
Sara Dube (Junior Librarian, St Hugh's College)
Mahi Joshi (Librarian Elect, Trinity College)
Brendan McGrath (ex-Junior Librarian, Oriel College)
Thomas Corrick (Librarian-in-Charge)
Laura Johnson (Minutes Secretary)
Nicholas Field-Johnson (OLDUT)
Lindsey Warne (Bursar)
Jeremy Worth (IT Officer)
William Prescott (Library Committee representative)
John Whitehead (Library Committee representative)
Amanda Saville (Librarian, Queen's College)
Fiona Wilkes (Librarian, Wolfson College)
Ljilja Ristic (representative of Bodleian Libraries)