This House Believes Technology Companies Should Prevent Government Access to Consumers' Data

  • Event Start: 2nd June 2016, 9:30pm
  • Event Type:
MOTION: This House Believes Technology Companies Should Prevent Government Access to Consumers' Data. PROPOSITION Michael Li: Second-year Chemistry student at Magdalen College, logistical mastermind, and currently the Union's Treasurer-Elect. Denelle Dixon-Thayer: Chief Legal and Business Officer of Mozilla, a free-software community whose products include the Firefox web browser. She leads Mozilla’s global business development, public policy, and legal teams, and wrote its highly influential amicus in support of Apple. John Taysom: Acclaimed venture capitalist and tech luminary, he holds EU and US patents on privacy enhanced interactions between devices. He also has invested in over 100 early stage startups, 19 of which have achieved an IPO. OPPOSITION Owen Rapaport: First-year Classics student at New College, and a member of the Secretary's Committee. Matthew G. Olsen: Director of the US National Counterterrorism Center 2011–2014, he was formerly Head of the Guantanamo Review Task Force and served as General Counsel of the National Security Agency. He is now President of the consulting firm IronNet Cybersecurity. Air Marshal Chris Nickols CBE: Chief of Defence Intelligence 2009–2012, and former Assistant Chief of the Defence Sta for Operations. Having joined the Royal Air Force in 1974, he is now Controller of the RAF Benevolent Fund. This debate is kindly supported by KPMG. BALLOT FOR DINNER: The ballot will close on Tuesday 31st May at 12:00. The prizes for this week's best debate floor speeches will be: •Main Debate First Prize: Spa day for 2 at Willows Leisure & Spa. •Main Debate Second Prize: Cuisine & wine experience for 2 at 1855 Wine Bar. •Emergency Debate Prize: Dinner for 4 with complimentary wine at Mamma Mia. The Emergency Debate will be announced shortly. To have your say before the debate, please take part in our Pre-Debate Poll on Twitter: