UN Debate at the Oxford Union

  • Event Start: 17th November 2016, 8:30pm
  • Event Type:
7.45 PM - Emergency Debate (Motion TBC) 8.30 PM - Main Debate "This House Believes the UN is a Failing Institution" SPEAKERS Proposition: Gui B. Cavalcanti: 2nd Year PPE student at Pembroke College, Treasurer of the Oxford University Brazilian Society, and a member of the Union's Secretary's Committee. Ambassador Riyad Mansour: Long-serving Palestinian Diplomat appointed Permanent Observer of Palestine to the UN in 2005. Miranda Brown: Former Chief of East and Southern Africa section of UN's OHCHR, and UN whistleblower. Prof Anne Bayefsky: Director, UN-accredited NGO Touro Human Rights Institute, UN watchdog & member UN delegations worldwide for 30+ years. Opposition: Dena Latif: 2nd Year History Student at Oriel College, and current Women's Officer of the Union. Mogens Lykketoft: Former Danish Minister, President of 70th Session of UN General Assembly. Edward Mortimer: Formerly Chief Speechwriter and Director of Communications for Kofi Annan. Natalie Samarasinghe: Exec Director of United Nations Association.