No Platforming Debate (Members Only)

  • Event Start: 9th May 2019, 8:30pm
  • Event Type:

This House Supports No Platforming

Over the past year, the Oxford Union has often found itself at the centre of a cultural conflict between those who defend no platforming and those who support free speech as an inalienable right.  Should educational institutions prioritize the concerns of minority groups over free speech?  And, more broadly, should free speech be upheld as an inherent right or are there some cases where it can, and should, be restricted?

Speakers in Proposition:

  • Chief Justice Robert French AC  :  A retired lawyer, he served as the twelfth Chief Justice of Australia and is currently the Chancellor of the University of Western Australia
  • Naz Shah MP  :  A Labour MP, she currently serves as Shadow Minister of State for Women and Equalities.  In 2016, she was temporarily suspended from her Party amidst controversy regarding a Facebook post about the US-Israel relationship
  • Mariah Idissi  :  A model and activist, Idrissi gained recognition as the first Muslim hijab-wearing model when she appeared in H&M's Close The Loop campaign in 2015

Speakers in Opposition:

  • Katie Hopkins  :  A former contestant on The Apprentice, she is now a media personality, columnist, and businesswoman.  Hopkins has been dubbed by various media outlets as a ‘professional troll’ due to her array of controversial views
  • Toby Young  :  Former Director of the New Schools Network, Young is currently working as the London associate editor of Quillette.  He is the author of the best selling memoir How to Lose Friends and Alienate People
  • Ann Widdecombe  :  A former Conservative MP, she now serves as a Privy Councillor.  Widdecome was known during her time as an MP for opposing the legality of abortion and her support for blasphemy laws

Prior to this debate, the Emergency Debate will be held at 7.45pm on a motion to be decided at this week's Consultative Committee

This Event is MEMBERS ONLY - please remember to bring your membership card